Nurse Chloe

December 1, 2008 at 9:27 am 6 comments

My poor baby girl had a horrible stomach flu that lasted six days.  It was awful and exhausting for both of us.  On Thanksgiving, I finally caught the bug and got sick in the middle of cooking:(  The next day I was pretty much laid out on the couch or in bed.  Pete even took the day off of work to care for me and Chloe.  Chloe was so sweet to me.  She would bring me pillows and crackers and her favorite stuffed dog to make me feel better.  She would periodically check on me to make sure I was still “happy.”  I was in total awe of her kindness and compassion after she said things like “I’ll take care of you Mommy” or “I’m so sorry you’re sick.  I’ll make you feel better.”  She made funny faces to make me laugh and gently rubbed my arm to soothe me.  Chloe even “cooked” me some soup in her kitchen.  At one point, I didn’t quite make it to the bathroom and ended up vomiting in a bowl in the hallway.  Chloe ran right over, knelt next to me and said “Its okay, Mommy.  I’m right here.  Just take a deep breath.”

How did she become so kind and understanding?  How did she survive this flu for six days with such spirit when I could barely stand it for a day?  How did she watch her mommy get sick and not get upset but instead try to comfort me?

I love her.  She is the sweetest girl I’ve ever known.  

Oh, and Pete was great too.  Not only did he take care of me, but he bought me ginger ale and tabloid magazines AND organized the kitchen cabinets!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Long time, no blog.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HomeSlice  |  December 1, 2008 at 11:11 am

    pete cleaned AND bought mags? and chloe took sweet care of you? that settles it. next time i’m puking my guts out, i’m heading to YOUR house!

  • 2. whatsupwiththejoneses  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Yuck! I’m so sorry you were both sick! Stomach flu is something of a nightmare for me, since I have a major, MAJOR issue with puke. But..that’s another story, isn’t it? Chloe is one sweet, sweet girl. You’re clearly doing something right with her, my friend…she sounds like a dream come true! And Pete…ya did good, buddy! 🙂

  • 3. Jessica  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Poor things! I know how you feel, both kids, myself and Chad all had the flu a month or so ago. It was awful. Chloe is so cute with her reassurances. My kids ran away 😛

  • 4. Alicia  |  December 2, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Chloe must have learned how to care for people from you. She’s so unbelievably sweet.

    I always wonder how the kids cope with illnesses so well. When I get Ellie’s colds, I’m completely wiped out.

  • 5. Sara  |  December 2, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Sounds awful, but I’d love to have Chloe as a nurse any day.

  • 6. Julia  |  July 10, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    How sweet! Both Chloe and Pete were so nice. I wish someone would make faces at me and organize my cabinets 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,901 hits

